Faragher Commits to Dartmouth for 2011

Apr 11, 2010

HANOVER, NH – Bismarck Bobcats goaltender Ryan Faragher is the eleventh Bobcat to secure his path to NCAA Division I hockey, as the netminder from Ontario has committed to Dartmouth College for the 2011-12 school year and season.

“I’m really excited to have my college plans set now,” said Faragher, “especially now that we’re in the playoffs. Having that external pressure out of the way is a big lift because all I have to worry about is Alexandria [the Bobcats’ divisional final opponent] and getting to nationals.”

In his first year as a Bobcat, Faragher was third in the NAHL in both goals against average at 2.17 and save percentage with a mark of .921 in 38 regular season games. He was also fourth league-wide with 23 wins.

Faragher posted 43 saves in his first playoff win over the Albert Lea Thunder on Friday as the Bobcats completed a three-game sweep of the fourth-seeded Thunder.

“Ryan is already a top goaltender in the North American Hockey League, statistically,” said Bobcats head coach Byron Pool. “So Coach [Bob] Gaudet made a shrewd move in picking him up for the 2011-12 season, because he will only improve next season under the guidance of [assistant coach] Layne Sedevie.”

The Big Green compete in the well-respected Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference; this year the ECAC sent two teams to the NCAA National Tournament in Cornell and Yale.

Dartmouth, located in Hanover, N.H., is a member of the prestigious Ivy League of eastern private colleges and is world-renowned for its academic reputation—ranking as the 11th best institution of higher learning nationwide according to US News and World Report.

“I’m undecided on my major as of right now,” said Faragher. “I feel lucky that I have a full year to weigh all my options in terms of what I want to study. I can’t go wrong though; having a Dartmouth education will set me up wonderfully for the rest of my life.”

Faragher’s commitment extends the Bobcats’ franchise record for Division I placements to 11 D-I recruits this year, including Jason Fabian (Air Force), Casey Kleisinger (Air Force), Ryan Jacobson (Air Force), Aaron Quick (Air Force), Gavin Hartzog (Wisconsin), Tom McCarthy (Merrimack), Sam Rendle (Bemidji State), Ben Danford (Canisius), Tony Turgeon (Nebraska-Omaha, alumnus) and Blake Hietala (Michigan Tech, alumnus).

“The entire Bobcat Hockey organization is extremely proud of Ryan for his accomplishment in securing his path to collegiate hockey,” added Pool, who himself played in the ECAC with Colgate from 1996-2000. “Ryan is the hardest worker on our team—every day he’s the first one on the ice and the last one off—and his commitment to Dartmouth is richly deserved.”

Faragher and the Bobcats will open the 2010 Central Division Finals on Friday with a 7:15 PM contest against the Alexandria Blizzard with a trip to the Robertson Cup Tournament on the line in the best-of-five series.

Friday’s series lid-lifter will be broadcast locally on the radio home of Bobcat Hockey, Super Talk 1270, KLXX-AM, and worldwide at BismarckBobcats.com via B2 Networks. The pre-game show starts at 6:45 PM.

Playoff tickets for the 2010 Robertson Cup Playoffs are available now for the Bobcats’ second-round series! You can reserve your postseason seats by calling the Bobcat Hockey Office at 701-222-3300, online at http://tickets.bismarckbobcats.com or by e-mailing the office for more information at gobobcathockey@aol.com.